Hello You Lot!

20130104-203513.jpg

Welcome to my blog. It is very hard to know where to start but as my friend Susie said to me last night…. “don’t think about it, just do it”. So here we go…

A wonderful thing I find about a new year, is that it is a chance to have a little clear out. I used to be a hoarder and still am in a way (with furniture that doesn’t fit in my flat & overly sentimental memorabilia boxes) but I have finally got to grips with throwing out, or giving away things I don’t use! It usually starts with products in the bathroom then I reluctantly move onto clothes, the worst parting, but eventually I get to the kitchen where instead of chucking I tend to recycle & organise! Jam jars get washed and put in the cupboard (my fave to keep are Bonne Mamman!) and I do the big clean with rubber gloves, domestos and hot water. Don’t get me wrong, I do this ritual more often than once a year but this time I had the luxury of adding some marvellous Christmas presents to the table.

Kilner Jars are incredibly handy for storing, they keep foods/grains/pasta etc. fresh but mean you don’t have to faff with Sellotape or re-sealing packages. I got these two little ladies (pictured above) from a friend for Christmas and they are totally adorable. I chucked out all the tea boxes that were gathering dust on the shelves and I am using these flirty looking jars for Earl Grey and English Breakfast teas. They have certainly brightened up the work surface! There is a German company called WECK who make great storage jars of all shapes and sizes that look very retro & cool. You can buy them in Butlers – which incidentally is a place I always go to get good bargains for my home!

Although it is never an easy task to clear out and sort, it really is a very satisfying one. So I definitely recommend giving it a go and start 2013 as you mean to go on, with a sparkling living space!

6 thoughts on “Hello You Lot!

  1. Actually really enjoyed that&with amazin women like Susie&Kirsty reading your blog you are clearly very highly regarded,and i can see why,am off to have a tidy up and clear out,oh and i may just help the economy and buy a few new bits for my house!:)

    • Keith, thank you so much for taking time to check out my blog! Much appreciated. I’ll try to keep it updated as much as possible with a few little bar/ restaurant reviews and the like as well. In the mean time… happy shopping 🙂 LG

  2. How delicious. You may now have to do lettuce leaves to balance up the donuts! I got a great lettuce in my Abel & Cole box on Thursday!!

Leave a Reply

